Tag Archives: Oh No

No wrinkles. No crinkles. No seams that show.

We are seriously thinking of starting a “This is going straight to the poolroom” segment for the show. Straight in at number one is this gem of an ad from 1976…

Fraserhead on duty today, starting off with a sneaky threesome off the new Soulwax album “From Deewee”, there’s some dark synth action from ÉLAN VITAL and PILOOSKI, we delve into soothing, thudding techno from JASSS, LIZA AIKIN, and HØF, plus beats and atmospherics galore from $HIT and $HINE, SKYMNING, BAILTER SPACE, AUDIOPHYSICAL, JOE JACKSON, and MR AMISH, to name but a few.

Direct download: The Joint – 25 March 2017

And here’s the playlist in full…

  • Soulwax – Goodnight Transmission
  • Soulwax – Here Come The Men In Suits
  • Soulwax – Is It Always Binary
  • Èlan Vital – Possession
  • Pilooski – Lemaire Women FW18
  • Jasss – Gates To Nowhere
  • Liza Aikin – Luis XVI (Makaton Modus Vivendi Mix)
  • HØF – Monk
  • $HIT AND $HINE – Have To Believe
  • Borrowed cs – pony
  • Purple Man – Need
  • Focus – Hay-Hay
  • Tanzania Soundsystem – Ngono Kijiji
  • Addison Groove – Maruno
  • Playtex – Superlook Panties 1976 *
  • skymning – Alone With My Thoughts
  • Flandiz – Glisnen
  • Audiophysical – Red Penny
  • Daedelus – Early Hours
  • Oh No – We Can Make It
  • Joe Jackson – Steppin’ out (extended)
  • Bailter Space – In A City Wardrobe
  • PJ Harvey – The Wheel
  • Dollkraut – Beggarman
  • Mr Amish – Pressure downwards, dead
  • Sarah Davachi – Chanter

* The source of this week’s lyrical heading.


It was 10 years ago yesterday – Part 1

A trawl through The Joint audio vaults has uncovered a set of previously unpodcasted shows from 10 years ago.

So for your nostalgic listening pleasure we present the first two hours of a programme that went to air on the 27th January 2007.

Lots and lots and lots of Ed Banger material.

Direct download: The Joint – 28 January 2017

And here’s the playlist in full…

  • DJ MEHDI “Signature”
  • DJ MEHDI “Saharan Break”
  • DJ MEHDI featuring Fafi “Luck Boy”
  • AMII STEWART “Knock On Wood”
  • DJ MEHDI featuring CHROMEO “I Am Somebody”
  • DJ MEHDI “Wee Bounce”
  • DJ MEHDI featuring XANAX “Hot-O-Momo”
  • DJ MEHDI “Titre Bonus”
  • DISCO D “Booty Bar Anthem”
  • MONARETA “Matanza Funk”
  • BIG SHUG “Spit Fire (Featuring Singapore Kane & Dre Robinson)”
  • KRAZY BALDHEAD “Crazy Motherfuckas (Midfield General Remix) (Feat Tes)”
  • FLAIRS “Truckers Delight”
  • DEPARTURE LOUNGE “Odd Times” **NZ**
  • O.G. featuring MC RIZLA “Smoove Chew” **NZ**
  • UFFIE “Hot Chick” TURBULENCE “Notorious”
  • SCIENTIST & JAMMY/THE ROOTS RADICS “Flash Gordon Meets Luke Skywalker”
  • A SUNNY DAY IN GLASGOW “Lists, Plans”
  • I:CUBE “Acid Tablet”
  • CULTURCIDE “Bruce”
  • CLIPSE “Chinese New Year”
  • OH NO featuring ALOE BLAC “Second Chance”
  • DIAGRAM BROTHERS “We Are All Animals”

The pledge, the turn and the prestige – a show of three parts

Direct download: The Joint – 7 January 2017

The first part is all the tunes we are just catching up on after trawling through everyone else’s “Best of 2016” lists – including Bleep, Noisey, Metal Postcard, Hype Machine and The Guardian.


  • Cassetteboy – Trump (Charlie Brooker’s Wipe 2016)
  • Rude Audio – Crystal Pylon
  • Daijvhs – Friends
  • Kanye West – Famous
  • Frigs – God Hates A Coward
  • Mitski – Your Best American Girl
  • Leon Vynehall – Blush
  • Lady Leshurr – Where Are You Now? (Featuring Wiley)
  • Skepta – Man
  • 808 State – In Yer Face (Bicep Remix)

The second part is inspired by holiday reading material – Good Night & Good Riddance by David Cavanagh. All the following tunes are mentioned in the book and previously unknown to us.

Good Night & Good Riddance

  • 1969 Andy Capp – Pop A Top
  • 1973 Funkadelic – If You Don’t Like The Effects, Don’t Produce The Cause
  • 1979 Honey Bane – Girl On The Run
  • 1985 Dignitary Stylish – Pon De Attack
  • 1988 Big Lady K – Don’t Get Me Started (Stuff & Thangs Version)
  • 1988 R+R – Acid Off A Way
  • 1994 Sonic Subjunkies – Central Industrial
  • 1997 Piano Magic – Angel Pie / Magic Tree
  • 2000 Hefner – Don’t Give Up On Us Baby

The third part is our usual fare with one eye on new releases in 2017. At The Drive-In. Cate Le Bon. The XX. British Sea Power.

Business As Usual

  • At The Drive-In – Governed By Contagions
  • Sou Sou Band – Persist Persist
  • Brother Portrait – Rearview
  • Chino Amobi – Milan
  • Cate Le Bon – Rock Pool
  • Dag – Guards Down
  • XX – Say Something Loving
  • Oh No – The Troubled
  • J-Live – Eleven Nine
  • Uranium Club – Who Made The Man?
  • Slowcoaches – 54
  • Hand Habits – Flower Glass
  • British Sea Power – Bad Bohemian

The Show: Mono versus stereo

And here’s the playlist in full…

12pm – 1pm 

+ Download 12pm – 1pm [85MB]

1pm – 2pm 

+ Download 1pm – 2pm [86MB]

This show accompanied by: Lagavulin 16 year old single malt

The Show: Hell’s bells

A while back we played a track from the brand new Pantha du Prince album “Elements of Sound” that he made with The Bell Laboratory. Forgot to post a video though. Below is the video for “Spectral Split”. We will somehow shoehorn the whole 17 minutes and 35 seconds of it into the show today. Read about the making of the album over at XLR8R.

And here’s the playlist in full…

12pm – 1pm + Download 12pm – 1pm [89MB]

1pm – 2pm

+ Download 1pm – 2pm [99MB]

This show accompanied by: Old Pulteney 12 year old single malt