The Show: Who killed the KLF?

Who indeed killed The KLF?

Spoiler alert: It wasn’t us. Honest.

But Chris Atkins might possibly know.

His new documentary “Who Killed the KLF?” irreverently chronicles the early lives of Jimmy Cauty and Bill Drummond, the formation of The Justified Ancients of Mu Mu, how to make hit records, the evolution of The KLF, the pranks, the controversies, the art, and of course the burning of a million quid. Alan Moore appears and lovingly sums it up: “Everything was about confrontation, everything was a challenge.” Haven’t enjoyed a music doco this much in years…

And on with the show…

Direct download: The Joint – 23 April 2022

Notebooks out completists, here’s the playlist in full…

  • THE KLF – Kylie Said To Jason
  • SARA DZIRI – Kan Ya Makan
  • PEREL – Real
  • CONFIDENCE MAN – Relieve The Pressure
  • BEN WOODS – Hovering At Home
  • ALDOUS HARDING – Bubbles
  • KATY J PEARSON – Talk Over Town
  • LAYAROUND – You Will Find Yourself in Time
  • CARL SCHILDE – John Stamos
  • KING TUBBY – The Immortal Dub
  • HORACE ANDY – Mr Bassie
  • PRINCE – Soft and Wet
  • ELLI & JACNO – Main Dans La Main
  • THE WEE PAPA GIRL RAPPERS – The Beat, The Rhyme, The Noise
  • UFFIE – where does the party go?
  • ADVANCE BASE – Little Sable Point Lighthouse
  • AIRABOI – Resilience Transmissions
  • BLACK MERLIN – Surface Air (Wata Igarashi’s Surface Remix)
  • INTEGER – Glimmer
  • SAULT – Solar
  • ESIAFI 1 – 24 hour networking
  • SODA LITE – Dusk Lorikeets
  • BRIX & THE EXTRICATED – Strange Times

The Show: Look Around You

Direct download: The Joint – 21 April 2018

And here’s the playlist in full…

  • BEYONCÉ –  Intro / Crazy In Love (Live @ Coachella)
  • BOBBY SESSIONS  –  Like Me
  • EYE  –  On Feather x Nandi Ndlovu
  • JENNY HVAL  –  Spells
  • KALI UCHIS  –  Just A Stranger (featuring Steve Lacy)
  • DEATH VALLEY GIRLS  –  Pink Radiation
  • TONY HYMAS  –  Pictures Of Departure
  • KAYTRANADA  –  Lite Spots
  • PEGGY & THE CIMARONS  –  Dog Your Woman

[Little Mouse]

  • BE3K  –  My Kitty Kat
  • EN ATTENDANT ANA  –  This Could Be
  • WHYTE HORSES  –  Counting Down The Years
  • BUNNY LEE  –  Portobello Special Dub
  • BIPOLAIRE  –  Les Noirs
  • KIA ZAKE (aka QUEEN QUINCEY)  –  Patois
  • KEEPSAKES  –  Maximum Mind Control
  • BRUTALISM  –  Chowder
  • DJ TAYE  –  Pop Drop (featuring DJ Paypal)

[Music 2000]

  • A$AP ROCKY  –  A$AP Forever
  • HATCHIE  –  Sugar & Spice
  • MOSCOMAN  –  I Ran
  • SUPERFOOD  –  Where’s The Bass Amp?
  • AMIT  –  Red Flag
  • TROUBLE  –  Bring It Back (featuring Drake) (Tyler, The Creator Remix)
  • GLASS BOTTOM BOAT  –  Return Of The Titans (featuring Deaf Switch & Toon Kurtis)
  • BERNARD ESTARDY  –  Le Pain, Le Vin
  • WALLOWS  –  These Days
  • SUPERGOD  –  Expecto

[Mehdi Hasan Interviews General Mark Kimmitt]

  • PRINCE  –  Nothing Compares 2 U

The Show: Retro-a-go-go

As mentioned at the start of the show, Mike D is the latest artist to be pressganged into making a runway mixtape for a haute couture fashion show. He’s done a freaky mix for Kenzo. [Thx Dangerous Minds]

Speaking of fashion shows, while the Justice “Planisphere” mix for the Dior Homme summer 2009 show is the sweetest of them all, the set that Chromatics did for the Chanel spring/summer 2013 show is super classy.

And here’s the playlist in full…

+ Download the whole show [166MB]

12pm – 1pm

1pm – 2pm

The Show: WARNING. May contain traces of jazz.

This is what you call a freakout. The Bruce Springsteen cover version was pretty damn spooky but Neneh Cherry‘s version of Suicide’s 1979 single “Dream Baby Dream” is crazy. Like someone strangling a saxophone. Have a listen below. God bless those crazy Norwegians at Smalltown Supersound.

And here’s the playlist in full…

12pm – 1pm

+ Download 12pm – 1pm – 86MB

1pm – 2pm

+ Download 1pm – 2pm – 91MB

The show: We witnessed the fitness

Roots Manuva at The Bedford, Moorhouse Avenue, Christchurch.
Roots Manuva at The Bedford, Moorhouse Avenue, last night.

Pssst… The Herb Whisperer recommends buying the February 2012 issue of Mojo. The covermount CD is New Order’s 1983 masterpiece “Power, Corruption & Lies” covered, Blue Monday revisited, and  bonus tracks. Could have been a recipe for a disaster but you’ll be pleasantly surprised. Have a sneak preview of the tracks here.

And here’s the playlist in full…

12pm – 1pm

+ Download 12pm – 1pm – 89MB

1pm – 2pm

+ Download 1pm – 2pm – 83MB

%d bloggers like this: