The Show: The World Is My Oyster At Easter

One of those shows where a quick glance down the playlist reveals a United Nations of music genres including (but not limited to) Indonesian Shoegaze, Swedish Electronic Noise, Mongolian Throat Metal, Italian Retro Disco, South African Kwaito House, Canadian Electro, Jamaican Hip Hop, Colombian / Spanish Reggaeton, K-(Indie)Pop and, of course, Ethiopian Drone Hymns.

As an added bonus here’s a song that didn’t make the final cut but always gets a thrashing in The Joint HQ at this time of year – “Should The Bible Be Banned” by McCarthy. Happy Easter everyone!

Direct download: The Joint – 20 April 2019

And here’s the playlist in full…

  • STEEL MIND  –  Boss Man
  • NINA SIMONE  –  In The Morning
  • ELENIN  –  Turtleneck
  • A CERTAIN RATIO  –  Houses In Motion
  • TEAMARRR  –  One Job
  • VINNY VIRGO  –  Toast
  • GOSHA GUPPY  –  A Beautiful Day To Get Robbed
  • BOOTHE  –  did they go
  • HAMILTON SCALPEL  –  Uprated Nite Zone
  • KELSEY LU  –  I’m Not In Love
  • BLACKPINK  –  Kill This Love

Frankie Boyle New World Order S03E04 Intro

  • WILMA VRITRA  –  Black Is The Beauty
  • THE HU  –  Wolf Totem
  • WILMA VRITRA  –  burds of paradise
  • JOËL  –  Type
  • TOY  –  You Make Me Forget Myself
  • PILE  –  The Soft Hands Of Stephen Miller
  • THE WORLD  –  Slow Rho
  • DJ CALL ME  –  Return Of DJ Call Me
  • MARIE DAVIDSON  –  Work It (Soulwax Remix)
  • OOHYO(우효)  –  Pizza

Frankie Boyle New World Order S03E04 Outro

  • KALLE HYGIEN  –  Violence Is The New Sex
  • JPEGMAFIA  –  The Who
  • FLAURAL  –  The Thinker
  • LOGOS  –  Zoned In (featuring Mumdance)
  • SOSENA GEBRE EYESUS  –  Aser Awetar (አስር አውታር)
  • CONTROL TOP  –  Straight Jackets
  • POZI  –  Engaged
  • BABY MOMO  –  Big Dyke Energy
  • ROSALÍA, J BALVIN  –  Con Altura
  • KOFFEE  –  Rapture
  • THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN  –  Vegetable Man
  • GIRLI  –  Deal With It

I’ll give someone else a share but not my own

Fraserhead at the controls today with classics from Nina Simone and Louis Prima bookending the show, and in between heaps of local produce in the form of Motte, Haan-808, Jagā, the sounds of the Crooked Lidz crew, Skymning, and Avoid Avoid, and then the weird and the wonderful from around the globe e.g. $hit and $hine, Sun Kil Moon, Daedelus, and Marshall Applewhite.

Direct download: The Joint – 11 March 2017

And here’s the playlist in full…

  • Nina Simone – Ain’t Got No, I Got Life
  • skymning – Hell is Other People
  • Borrowed cs – track005
  • Black Point – Forest Lore
  • Todd Terje – Jungelknugen (Four Tet Remix)
  • Seekersinternational – SoundDedication
  • Addison Groove – Changa
  • Tanzania Soundsystem – Upotofu
  • A Band Called Flash – Sliph
  • Motte – Strange Dreams
  • Sun Kil Moon – Vague Rock Song
  • avoid!avoid – Meteor
  • $HIT AND $HINE – I Hate This Fucking Machine
  • HØF – Some Fodder
  • Marshall Applewhite – TV Track 120 Bpm feat. Kilo Kish
  • Owl – 感覺
  • Flandiz – Dem Shoes
  • Purple Man – I Smoked A Joint On The Moon feat. Yung Dizz *
  • Arms and Sleepers – Comedown Horizon (feat. Airøspace)
  • 2XM – Feelin It
  • Haan808 – Broken Dream feat. OZZIE
  • Jagā – Screens
  • Daedelus – Candy Corn
  • Louis Prima – Sing Sing Sing

* The source of this week’s lyrical heading.

The Show: Sounds for pets.

And here’s the playlist in full…

Direct download: The_Joint_2016-01-30-12-14.mp3

12pm – 1pm

1pm – 2pm

The Show: The return of Tulip Black

Lady Tulip
Lady Tulip aka Tulip Black, turning things upside down just like Diana Ross.

Her last appearance on The Joint was back in 2009 and today is the return of Lady Tulip. She’s not too pleased either after missing out on tickets to Beyoncé’s three Auckland gigs in October which means she will be playing the darkest, scariest R&B that she can find. Hold tight.

And here’s the playlist in full…

+ Download the whole show [164MB]

12pm – 1pm

1pm – 2pm