The Show: Dead white men’s notes.

Another week and another music documentary to recommend.

“Sisters With Transistors” charts the (relatively) unheralded female pioneers of electronic music. From Clara Rockmore’s mastery and development of the theremin to the earsplitting drones of Maryanne Amacher, it’s the story of women who wanted to do more than “push around dead white men’s notes”.

It only seemed right and proper to include a couple of tunes from the soundtrack in today’s playlist, to wit: Laurie Spiegel and Space Lady.

All interspersed with excerpts from Chris Addison’s recent Bugle appearance.

And on with the show…

Direct download: The Joint – 15 May 2021

Notebooks out completists, here’s the playlist in full…

  • PARIS TEXAS – Situations
  • LSDXOXO – The Devil
  • POP UP! – Another lonely night…
  • DATBLYGU – Casserole Efeilliaid
  • CHEMICAL BROTHERS – The Darkness That You Fear
  • THE VISION – Liberation Radio
  • HÉCTOR BARREIRO – Hare Tripla

Chris Addison – The Queen

  • LAURIE SPIEGEL – Appalachian Grove 1 *
  • TASNEEM – All Your Cousins (Dave Sharma Remix)
  • LIARS – Sekwar
  • LEO BHANJI – Damaged
  • BALTRA – Baby

Chris Addison – Tories

  • THE SPACE LADY – Synthesize Me *
  • 03CAS – MOSCOW
  • SCREAM AND DANCE – In Rhythm
  • POiSON GiRL FRiEND – Nobody
  • GIRL IN RED – hornylovesickmess
  • NIGHT LUNCH – House Full Of Shit
  • DUA LIPA – We’re Good

Chris Addison – Monkey Humans

  • SORRY – Cigarette Packet
  • REXY – Don’t Turn Me Away
  • COLA BOYY – Kid Born In Space (featuring Andrew VanWyngarden)
  • so badly – Harley Davidson
  • TONY ALLEN – Cosmosis (featuring Ben Okri, Skepta)
  • BIIG PIIG – Lavender
  • SADE – Why Can’t We Live Together (intro)
  • СВІТЛАНА ОХРІМЕНКО – III Episode From Original Performed Soundtrack Transilvania Smile

The Show: An ostrich in a soda siphon

Letting our freak flag fly today by using Hawkwind’s “Assault & Battery (Part One)” as the last tune on the show, but it’s not an original idea. The inspiration came from the closing credits of  “Satire”, part of the third season of Stewart Lee’s Comedy Vehicle which aired in the UK a couple of weeks ago…

And here’s the playlist in full…


Direct download: The_Joint_2014-03-29-12-14.mp3

12pm – 1pm

1pm – 2pm

The Show: Taking The Mix

Quite a few tracks on today’s show have been extracted from various mixtapes that have been taking our fancy lately, including the Kwesachu set over at The Quietus, Electric Youth’s contribution to the White Light series and The Roots Of South Africa Punk soundtrack courtesy of Exile On Moan Street.

And here’s the playlist in full…

12pm – 1pm

+ Download 12pm – 1pm – 87MB

1pm – 2pm

+ Download 1pm – 2pm – 95MB