Discos, microbes, these things come between us

Direct download: The Joint – 29 October 2016

And here’s the playlist in full…

  • Yves Tumor – Face of A Demon
  • Haan808 – Night
  • Danny Brown – Downward Spiral
  • Tourettes – Memories Is a Shit Name For A Song
  • Lawrence Arabia – Sweet Dissatisfaction *
  • The Mantarays – The Barnyard
  • Kambo Super Sound – 1538 Dub
  • Kiki Hitomi – Galaxy
  • La Femme – Couteau
  • Tristesse Contemporaine – Let’s Go
  • Fujiya & Miyagi – R.S.I.
  • I Monster – The uncertain contents of the BUCHLA box
  • Kelsely Abaza – Alike are Brotherly Veins
  • DJ Sotofett – Soukas Mix
  • Acid Arab – Le Disco
  • LATHE – Phase Mood
  • Carreno Is LB – Aesthetic Reflection
  • Mica Levi & Oliver Coates – Barok Main
  • Philip Glass – Heroes
  • Roy Montgomery – Slow heroes
  • avoid!avoid – Polytechnik
  • Mori-Ra – Groovy
  • Takuya Matsumoto – Red Radio
  • Scritti Politti – Tinseltown To The Boogiedown (Ali Shaheed Muhammad Instrumental)

* The source of this week’s lyrical heading.

Don’t be afraid, it’s only blood

Direct download: The Joint – 17 September 2016

Straight into the wonky and wobbly with Moogy synths, washing machine techno on hard sudsy cycles in the middle, the beats break up after that, and then we finish off with the pop.

And here’s the playlist in full…

  • I Monster – The fantastic tale of Dr. MOOG and the birth of the shimmering beast
  • La Femme – Always in the Sun
  • Yoo-Yoo – Pet Shop Boys
  • Pet Shop Boys – Twenty-something
  • Mndsgn – Ya Own Way
  • The Invisible – Life’s Dancers (Floating Points Remix)
  • Tom Terrien – Tiny Algo (4 Bernie)
  • Dead Fader – Spinning Wheel
  • Steve Murphy – Italolove
  • Evigt Mörker – Tom Himmel
  • Sparky – My Prophet
  • Neel – Vandal
  • Mr. Tophat – Medical Treatment
  • LATHE – Athens By Taxi
  • Starkey – Apsis
  • Langa Langa – Freedom Is The Thing
  • Waldeck feat. La Heidi – Una Volta
  • Jenny Hval – Period Piece *
  • Uffe – As Long as It Lasts
  • Blair Parkes – shoulders
  • Silver Apples – Nothing Matters
  • Bambooman – Foundations
  • Blur – To The End
  • Bosques De Mi Mente – El Fin De Las Cosas Parte 2
  • Polygon Window – Quino-Phec

* The source of this week’s lyrical heading.

The Show: Record Store Day + 7

On the show today Fraserhead mines a rich vein of Christchurch music from the likes of Yvnalesca, Pinn’d, Haan-808, The Salad Boys and Misfit Mod whilst The Herb Whisperer trawls through the debris of Record Store Day 2013 – The Uncluded (see video below) being the undoubted highlight. Also listen out for new shiz from King Midas Sound, !!!, and Ben La Desh.

No animals were harmed in the making of this video, but some of the animals must have been harmed at some point.

And here’s the playlist in full…

12pm – 1pm

+ Download 12pm – 1pm [82MB]

1pm – 2pm

+ Download 1pm – 2pm [77MB]

The Show: Vaccination Day

Fraserhead here. I’m on my own today. It’s been pouring with rain and Sudafed is pumping through my veins. Which makes this brand new Shacklock Meth Party single “Vaccination Day” all the more poignant.

And here’s the playlist in full…

12pm – 1pm + Download 12pm – 1pm [81MB]

1pm – 2pm + Download 1pm – 2pm [81MB]

The Show: Oddball UK Hip Hop

Strange U has a new EP out on Eglo Records consisting of weird, murky, grainy hip hop.

How weird? Well the record label describes it as “rap music never sounding so orthopaedic” and that Strange U are ” invoking the spirts of Oshun, Vishnu, Apollo, Sobek and Jim Henson” in order to “crush Duran Duran rapper with a Dr Claw beer mit”.

For some reason this all makes us hark back to the Infinite Livez’ “Bush Meat”  album from 2004. So to enable you to compare and contrast here are Strange U’s “Klaatu Barada Nikto” and Infinite Livez’ “The Adventures Of The Lactating Man”

(actually it is mainly contrast)

And here’s today’s playlist in full…

12pm – 1pm

+ Download 12pm – 1pm [83MB]

1pm – 2pm

+ Download 1pm – 2pm [81MB]

%d bloggers like this: