The Show: The dishes are piling up, but that’s cool cos at least we’ve got food…

All over the shop today haphazardly and unmethodically covering the pop, psychedelic, chiptuned pop-punk, futuristic-retro pop, old prog, new prog, lo-fi bedroom pop, mardi gras indian, experimental dancehall, footwork/footmahi, ambient electronic and cyberpunk musical sub-genres, to name but a few.

We’re not ones to pick favourites but first cab off the rank today is GOLD MEDAL FAMOUS with possibly the catchiest, happiest, most uplifting and nihilistic song ever written about fading into obscurity (and other things). Have a listen to “It’s a waste of time” below and see if you disagree…

And with that done you can listen to the whole show below…

Direct download: The Joint – 17 August 2019

And here’s the playlist in full…

  • GOLD MEDAL FAMOUS – It’s a waste of time
  • JAINS MIND – Welcome Home
  • CLAIRO – Impossible
  • SUI ZHEN – Matsudo City Life
  • PURPLE PILGRIMS – Ancestors Watching
  • AKSEL & AINO – Brian By The Sea
  • 79RS GANG – Wrong Part of Town
  • CAURAL – Boombox Mask
  • I JAHBAR – Weed Patrol Remix (Blazer Sound Prod.)
  • 100 GECS – gec 2 Ü *
  • THE BOB LAZAR STORY – Two For The Rest
  • GOBLIN – Profondo Rosso
  • SEAHAWKS – 5th World Symphony
  • SFIRE – Sfire 1 (feat. Marcella)
  • LE RUBRIQUE – Children of The 80s
  • BONASFORSA – Elan feat. DELO (DJ Raw Sugar Remix)
  • DEREK & DJLO – Signor Mall
  • DEENA ABDELWAHED – Fdhiha (Dawan remix)
  • QNETE & CARMEL – The Trifecta
  • KASPER BJØRKE – Pazienza
  • ARWEN – Lemon Love
  • GRAPHEINE – Empty Socket

* The source of this week’s lyrical heading.

The Show: I think you owe us $750

How did we miss this psychedelic goodness first time round? JAINS MIND aka Jack Swain released the From Nowhere EP back in March. Here’s his secret…

I recorded the whole thing in a little living room in a little blue house near the beach in Christchurch just after we first moved in, we had no wifi for a few months so it was really easy to just focus on music, doing it for hours and hours everyday.

And if the EP isn’t enough for you then the latest track “Welcome Home” will keep you tripping balls in the meantime.

Meantime, here’s the show…

Direct download: The Joint – 03 August 2019

And here’s the playlist in full…

  • JAINS MIND – Life, Here And Now
  • GIL SCOTT-HERON – Whitey On The Moon (The Munk Machine Remix)
  • LONE – How Can You Tell
  • PEREL – Karlsson (Bloody Mary Cat’s On Acid Remix)
  • KOOL AID – Indie Smack Talk *
  • WEEPING ICON – Ripe for Consumption
  • LE PRINCE HARRY – Lurking
  • OLYMPIA – Wrong Number
  • MEDAL – I.M.L
  • SUMI SAUCE – Experimenting
  • KAPITAN – Album Song
  • KELLY MORAN – Love Birds, Night Birds, Devil-Birds
  • FÉLICIA ATKINSON – Shirley to Shirley
  • 2XM – Purple Sky
  • PURPLEMAN – Purple
  • JACKAL THE BLACKAL – Barcode [Prod. By SPVCED]
  • IRIE MONA – Skuff Island
  • KHRUANGBIN – Cómo Te Quiero (Scientist Dub)
  • G SUDDEN – BunOut (SKRS Prod.)
  • I JAHBAR – Ipy Ipy (Duppy Gun Prod.)
  • MEKINE U TEKSI – Exile Emotive
  • QNETE & CARMEL – Forest Magic
  • PERM – Quewupp
  • COPPER GREEN SEDAN – Pedestrian (Desert Sound Colony’s Stripped & Dipped Edit)
  • TERROR OF THE DEEP – The Smell of Summer

* The source of this week’s lyrical heading.

%d bloggers like this: