Tag Archives: Daniel Avery

The Show: Are You Hanging Up Your Stocking On Your Wall? Are You Hanging Up Your Stocking On Your Wall? Are You…

Tried to avoid any Christmas frivolity this year but the pull towards festive nonsense was too great.

Plus, the repeated-lyric-reworking of Slade’s “Merry Xmas Everybody” put us in mind of an equivalent deconstruction someone performed on The Human League’s “Don’t You Want Me” a few years ago.

Direct download: The Joint – 15 December 2018

And here’s the playlist in full…

  • “SLADE”  –  Merry Xmas Everybody (But All The Lyrics Are ‘Are You Hanging Up Your Stocking On Your Wall’) *
  • MEEK MILL  –  What’s Free (featuring Rick Ross & Jay Z)
  • ANGELIC MILK  –  When The Limousines Pass By
  • PRESSURE  –  Militant
  • BORED IN COLOMBIA – Dreaming Of Turkey And Ham (featuring Red Headed Roy The Butchers Boy)
  • SLOWTHAI  –  Doorman
  • SHIT & SHINE  –  Sunrise Sam
  • J DILLA  –  The Throwaway (Yancey Boys featuring Frank Nitt)
  • THE GIST  –  Love At First Sight
  • ROSE DROLL  –  Boy Bruise
  • DANIEL AVERY  –  Diminuendo
  • THE HIGHER  –  The Core
  • BELLE & SEBASTIAN – The 12 Days Of Christmas
  • LIFE IN SODOM  –  The Stains (Alessandro Adriani Remix)
  • RIVAL CONSOLES  –  Persona
  • CONFIDENCE MAN  –  Santa’s Comin’ Down The Chimney
  • PLEASURE PLANET  –  Evaporate
  • CROOKED MAN  –  Long Time Dead
  • PRESSURE  –  Vex Riddim
  • V/VM – Christmas Stuffing Fanfare
  • MIRRORED LIPS  –  Falling In Love Again (Can’t Help It)
  • BONE HEAD  –  Soft Power
  • IC3PEAK  –  Смерти Больше Нет
  • HIPSWAY  –  Main Theme From The Film “Ask The Lord”
  • SILVERBACKS  –  Just In The Band
  • THE ALCHEMIST  –  E Coli (featuring Earl Sweatshirt)
  • UNLOVED  –  Love
  • PETE SHELLEY  –  Homosapien (Elongated Dancepartydubmix)

* The source of this week’s lyrical heading.


The Show: I’m going gluten free for the summer

Direct download: The Joint – 15 September 2018

And here’s the playlist in full…

  • MISS WORLD  –  Carb Yr Enthusiasm *
  • PAUL JACOBS  –  Sunday Morning 2
  • WHITE DENIM  –  It Might Get Dark
  • GUERILLA TOSS  –  Come Up With Me
  • BC CAMPLIGHT  –  I’m Desperate
  • HER’S  –  Mannie’s Smile
  • ANNA CALVI  –  Don’t Beat The Girl Out Of My Boy
  • SHIT & SHINE  –  Take You Some Time

[just do it 1]

  • LOU REED  –  The Bed
  • CUPCAKKE  –  Blackjack
  • JET JAGUAR  –  Call (Ludus Remix)
  • DANIEL AVERY  –  Glitter (Jon Hopkins Remix)
  • BERNTHOLER  –  My Suitor
  • PUCE MARY  –  Red Desert
  • JULIA HOLTER  –  I Shall Love 2

[just do it 2]

  • LOCAL LOADIES  –  Walken
  • SIN FALTA  –  Noh Mas
  • JAY GLASS DUBS  –  Temple Dub
  • SHMU  –  All Will Be Erased
  • FORT ROMEAU  –  Untitled III
  • UNITS, THE  –  High Pressure Days
  • MENACE BEACH  –  Satellite

[just do it 3]

  • LALA LALA  –  Dove
  • GABE GURNSEY  –  Night Track
  • NHK YX KOYXEN  –  Outset (Remix)
  • POM-POMS, THE  –  I Got That Boom
  • UNKNOWN MORTAL ORCHESTRA  –  Hunnybee (Baltra Remix)
  • VIRGINIA WING  –  The Female Genius
  • MEGAN THEE STALLION  –  Tina Montana
  • BEACH HOUSE  –  Drunk In LA

* The source of this week’s lyrical heading.

The Show: I got some things I cannot add up in my mind…

If the show today was a degustation menu it would go a little something like this… baroque pop, power pop, gentle pop, a musical sorbet, a noodle without, distressed beats, 80s synth house, and a final refreshing sorbet.

And Fraserhead is still addicted to the twangy-jaunty-indie-country-power-pop of the new SCHOFIELD SPIRES album belafonte. Thank you Blair Parkes for the tip off.

“math teacher” is a favourite. Can’t believe they didn’t win RDU’s RoundUp on the strength of this number alone! Scandal!!!

Direct download: The Joint – 14 July 2018

And here’s the playlist in full…

  • FRANÇOIS DE ROUBAIX – Dernier Domicile Connu
  • THE HOLYDRUG COUPLE – I’ll Only Say This
  • THE NERVES – Hanging On The Telephone
  • SCHOFIELD SPIRES – math teacher *
  • NU GUINEA – Nuova Napoli
  • BLAIR PARKES – all I saw
  • GROUPER – Driving
  • PREFUSE 73 – We Lost Our Beat Tapes In Mecca
  • CUSTARD SQUARE – Beyond All Or Nothing
  • MARENN SUKIE – Simple Excuses
  • KAITLYN AURELIA SMITH – Abstractions
  • EVITCELES – hllf
  • DANIEL AVERY – Shadow Mountain
  • ANTONI MAIOVVI – Shivers
  • DE-BONS-EN-PIERRE – The Eyebrows Salesgirl
  • ALEXIS LE-FAN – Pune
  • FRANZ SCALA – Anacondas
  • HORTON JUPITER – Smokin’ The Roach
  • PEGGY GOU – Travelling Without Arriving (GE-OLOGY Nite Stealth Ninja Mix)
  • SILENT FREEWAY – Let’s Be Free

* The source of this week’s lyrical heading.

The Show: For Ochoa. For Navas. For Enyeama.

Not for Casillas, Akinfeev or Pletikosa.

We’ve tried to limit our World Cup references in the last couple of weeks but the new single from John MOuse (not John Maus) gives us an opportunity to pay our respects to the stand out goalkeepers of the tournament.

To be fair to Mr. MOuse the song isn’t strictly about football and it’s uptempo, dare we say, Britpoppish vibe only represents one aspect of the magnificent “The Death Of John MOuse” album, soon to be released on Crocfingers. There’s also wistful melancholia and noise. We tried to capture all three in a rare Joint triple play on today’s show.

And here’s the playlist in full…

Direct download: The_Joint_2014-07-05-12-14.mp3

12pm – 1pm

1pm – 2pm

The Show: Saws, recorders, bleeps

Those Doprah kids are no slouches when it comes to videos! Here’s their second video release in a week, this time for “Stranger People”.

And here’s the playlist in full…

Direct download: The_Joint_2014-06-28-12-14.mp3

12pm – 1pm

1pm – 2pm