The Show: The mystery of Scottish sport is why we hate the English so…

Euro 2020 2021 is currently underway and preparation for today’s show coincided with the build up to the England versus Scotland match.

So much to play for! A win for Scotland would surely guarantee secession or independence. And a win for England would surely vindicate Brexiteers everywhere. Or maybe we were being unrealistic. And then we woke up Saturday morning and saw the match end in a 0-0 draw.

However, we will never pass up an excuse to rummage around in the archives and play Primal Scream, Irvine Welsh & On-U Sound’s The Big Man And The Scream Team Meet The Barmy Army Uptown.

And on with the show…

Direct download: The Joint – 19 June 2021

Notebooks out completists, here’s the playlist in full…

  • DOUJIN DUKE – A i s l e_3 0
  • PRIMAL SCREAM, IRVINE WELSH AND ON-U-SOUND – The Big Man And The Scream Team Meet The Barmy Army Uptown (Full Strength Fortified Dub) *
  • JÄH DIVISION – Isolation Dub
  • DON EVANS & THE PARAGONS – Danger In Your Eyes
  • MALI-I – I-Give (Soft Metal Remix)
  • ANIKA – Change
  • JORJA CHAMBERS – I’ll Be Waiting
  • MARIA KELLY – Dimme
  • FARAH – Fountain Of Youth
  • NECRUM SELECT – Pocket Fulla Stonez
  • HUS KINGPIN – The Atticus Play
  • 2XM – Altitude
  • CINTHIE – City Lights
  • COLD CAVE – Psalm 23
  • SON LUX – Sever [feat. Holland Andrews]
  • HILLS – Och Solen Sänkte Sig Röd
  • OV PAIN – Daytripping
  • ACID ROOSTER – Stereofuzz
  • DLINA VOLNY – Redrum
  • LANA DEL REY – Text Book
  • LOVESHADOW – Candlelight (To Albion)
  • KENNY DALGLISH, SANDY JARDINE AND THE NEW FIRM – Each Saturday (from The John Peel Show 5 September 1979)

* The inspiration for this week’s lyrical heading.

The Show: Some may say that you are only interested in one thing…

A welcome return today from Nick Harte aka Shocking Pinks. His mysterious new MERCEDES CAMBRIDGE project “Adversary” is cinematic, darkly ambient and hypnotically crimecore. It’s the soundtrack for the film that Nicolas Winding Refn was too scared to make. Get it now on Bandcamp and/or get the cassette version via Opal Tapes.

Not to be outdone, after a long hiatus ANIKA aka Annika Henderson is back too. The new album Change is out 23 July 2021. For a wee taste have a listen to Finger Pies…

And on with the show…

Direct download: The Joint – 5 June 2021

Notebooks out completists, here’s the playlist in full…

  • ANIKA – Finger Pies
  • COLD CAVE – Night Light
  • THE JUAN MACLEAN – City Life Disco
  • MARIE DAVIDSON – Renegade Breakdown (Jessy Lanza Remix)
  • AZURE – Southern Tropics
  • REAL LIES – Oh Me, Oh My (Nicotine Patch) feat. Dominique Russell
  • NECRUM SELECT – Catchin’ Vapors [Interlude]
  • R.A.P. FERREIRA – rejoice (feat. Eldon Somers)
  • IL EST VILAINE – Les Mystères de Lorient feat. Narumi Herisson
  • WLF – Bender
  • HOORSEES – Waterfall (Hurts)
  • PICKLE DARLING – Everything Is Flammable
  • MINI – Talk
  • ODDIO FACTORY – The Prophet
  • BLAIR PARKES – shimmer with Teen Haters
  • LANA DEL REY – Blue Banisters
  • PENELOPE TRAPPES – Awkward Matriarch
  • LES BAXTERS – Gamelan Gang
  • LONE – Coming Into Being and Passing Away
  • L.$.D FUNDRAISER – The Last Rite & Ritual Of A Sinking Ship

* The inspiration for this week’s lyrical heading.

The Show: Scissor Sister

We’re enjoying the first couple of tunes from Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds new album so much we snuck one on to the show today. “She Taught Me How to Fly” first caught our eye on an episode of Later with Jools Holland at the end of October. Look carefully. One member of the band is on backing scissors.

Direct download: The Joint – 2 December 2017

And here’s the playlist in full…

  • GWENNO  –  Le Kov Trailer #1
  • JANE WEAVER  –  The Architect (Andy Votel’s Brutaliszt 250kg Readymix)
  • STATIK SELEKTAH  –  Put Jewels On It (featuring Run The Jewels)
  • NOT WAVING  –  Where Are We
  • ESCAPE-ISM  –  Almost No One (Can Have My Love)
  • REMY MA  –  Wake Me Up (featuring Lil’ Kim)
  • OVERMONO  –  Inulin
  • COLD CAVE  –  Glory
  • YAEJI  –  Raingurl
  • BLACK ASTEROID  –  Howl (Black Dub Remix)
  • NOAHS DARK  –  Inward
  • THUNDER JACKSON  –  Guilty Party
  • GO-KART MOZART  –  When You’re Depressed
  • NEW BAD THINGS  –  Josh Has A Crush On A Femme From Reed
  • MEATRAFFLE  –  ‘Ndrangheta Allotment
  • MARVIN GAYE  –  Hitch Hike
  • DJ PREMIER  –  Our Streets (featuring A$AP Ferg)
  • MADVILLAIN  –  Great Day (Four Tet Remix)
  • PINKSHINYULTRABLAST  –  In The Hanging Gardens
  • ANNA BURCH  –  2 Cool 2 Care
  • CARMEN CANEDO  –  Becoming Human
  • YUNG LEAN  –  Metallic Intuition
  • STEFFLON DON, SKEPTA  –  Ding-A-Ling (featuring Skepta)
  • RAKTA  –  Atrativos da Mentira
  • IKONIKA  –  Oral Suspension
  • IAMDDB  –  Shade
  • LIMINANAS, THE  –  Istanbul Is Sleepy (featuring Anton Newcombe)
  • PEREL  –  Die Dimension
  • RUN THE JEWELS  –  Mean Demeanor (Explicit)
  • JANE WEAVER  –  The Architect
  • GWENNO  –  Le Kov Trailer #2
%d bloggers like this: