Author Archives: theherbwhisperer

The Show: British Masters

We’ve spent the last few weeks binge watching Noisey’s British Masters series, hosted by John Doran.

If these interviews intrigue you (and they intrigued us enough to include some highlights in today’s show) head over to The Quietus where you can find more of Mr Doran’s work.

Direct download: The Joint – 23 March 2019

And here’s the playlist in full…

  • PREGOBLIN  –  Combustion
  • STETSASONIC  –  Talkin’ All That Jazz
  • JOVIALE  –  Monaco (Demo)
  • FONTAINES D.C.  –  Roy’s Tune

John Doran talks to Tricky #1

  • UNLOVED  –  Remember (Keefus Ciancia Reminisce Remix) (featuring Étienne Daho and Jade Vincent)
  • OPEN MIKE EAGLE  –  Microfiche
  • HELADO NEGRO  –  Running
  • LORD$OFDOGTOWN  –  Autumn
  • SLOPPY BOY  –  Hungover

John Doran talks to Cosey Fanni Tutti

  • HUELGAS ENSEMBLE  –  Qui Habitat (Motete A 24 Voces)
  • WEYES BLOOD  –  Everyday
  • UFFIE  –  Sadmoney
  • DIRK DE SAEVER  –  The Same, Same Story
  • HEALTH x JPEGMAFIA  –  Hate You

John Doran talks to Liam Gallagher

  • OOFT!  –  Guilty Feet Beat
  • CLINIC  –  Rubber Bullets
  • NOTS  –  Half Painted House
  • HASH REDACTOR  –  Good Sense
  • TONE CHOP & FROST GAMBLE  –  Wreck The Mic
  • KAYTRANADA  –  Well I Bet Ya

John Doran talks to David Rodigan

  • CODEK  –  Tam Tam (Daniele Baldelli & Marco Dionigi Remix A)
  • JAH WOBBLE, KEITH LEVENE, YOUTH featuring MARK STEWART  –  A Very British Coup (Long Version)
  • DJ DR-660  –  Fuk Me FTB (Da Bomb Edit)

John Doran talks to Tricky #2

  • MARIE DAVIDSON  –  Lara (Daniel Avery Remix)
  • TEXTASY  –  Shawty Wats Up (Cybermission Remix)
  • TANYA TAGAQ  –  Toothsayer
  • SULLY  –  Run
  • SQUID  –  Houseplants

The Show: Party Like It’s 1989

The Herb Whisperer is taking one or two shows off to recover from the bizarre Champions League Round of 16 match that took place earlier this week between PSG & Manchester United .

Filling in is a set Graeme Park & Mike Pickering played at The Hacienda in August 1989. You can hear the rave whistles and (almost) smell the Vicks VapoRub

Direct download: The Joint – 09 March 2019

The Show: After The Screaming Stops / Leaving Neverland

Trailers split up today’s show. One is our favourite music documentary from last year, Bros’ “After The Screaming Stops”. The other is a forthcoming HBO film about Michael Jackson which, unfortunately but necessarily, is most definitely not about music.

Direct download: The Joint – 23 February 2019

And here’s the playlist in full…

  • BLACK MIDI  –  Speedway (Blanck Mass Remix)
  • TEARS FOR FEARS  –  Suffer The Children (Remix)
  • TOY  –  Strangulation Day (Cosey Fanni Tutti Remix)
  • JERRY WILLIAMS  –  David At The Bar
  • BADGIRL$  –  Jorts
  • NEULANDER  –  Sex, God + Money
  • PIP BLOM  –  Daddy Issues
  • VIRTUAL SELF  –  Ghost Voices (Lane 8 Remix)
  • LIZZO  –  Juice

“After The Screaming Stops”

  • MONKEES, THE  –  Do I Have To Do This All Over Again (RIP Peter Tork)
  • RICO NASTY  –  Sandy Prod
  • AFGHAN DAN  –  Road Rage
  • MDOU MOCTAR  –  Wiwasharnine
  • SHARDS  –  Reflections
  • MEAT BEAT MANIFESTO  –  Radio Babylon
  • SNEAKS  –  The Way It Goes
  • DEE KOALA  –  Whuzet
  • SHOP REGULARS  –  Goodbye Old Days
  • PYE CORNER AUDIO  –  Hollow Earth
  • JOHN VANDERSLICE  –  I’ll Wait For You

“Leaving Neverland”

  • THESE NEW PURITANS  –  Inside The Rose
  • BLU & OH NO  –  The Lost Angels Anthem
  • CHROMATICS  –  Time Rider
  • PREFAB SPROUT  –  I Trawl The Megahertz

Yé Yé

For once we’re trying to keep a promise made on the show so here’s the Yé Yé (Girls Of ’60’s French Pop Music) mix we said we would post.

And it’s a mix that we’re shamelessly plundering for content on The Joint.

Thank you Feral House.

The Show: Apocalypso

We’re not ones for original thoughts and ideas. Never have been, probably never will. Hence us taking the easy way out today and celebrating the Mayan apocalypse with an end of the world flavour to the show. Still no Phil Collins though.

And here’s the playlist in full…

12pm – 1pm

+ Download 12pm – 1pm – 87MB

1pm – 2pm

+ Download 1pm – 2pm – 103MB

Apocalypso 30 Minute Mix